3

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2007-03-28
on 31 March 2007, reviewed by: sal

#81

This is my primary codec and I think it's awesome as, but for some reason this didnt seem to kick in (couldn't playback .flv or .mov files in MPC) so I uninstalled and went back to [2006.10.4] which seems to work fine. I'm on Win Vista Ultimate (fresh).

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2007-03-19
on 22 March 2007, reviewed by: ivan monrroy

#80

necesito este decodificador... gracias por darme mas informacion

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

Reply

2

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2007-03-19
on 21 March 2007, reviewed by: Stirling

#79

Hello,

Are there instructions anywhere on how to uninstall the FFDShow codec? It's causing application crashes on Vista.

Any pointers are appreciated.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

Reply

4

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2007-03-05
on 06 March 2007, reviewed by: mehedi khan

#78

I want the manual file of ffdshow to use it on smartmovie player plz send me that.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2007-03-05
on 05 March 2007, reviewed by: Valy

#77

Can't play MKV file (video: h264 500kbps 960x544 25fps x264, audio: HEv2-AAC q=0.2).I use Bsplayer + ffdshow-rev899_20070209 ..please help me ..i dont know what to set?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2007-02-28
on 01 March 2007, reviewed by: Aurthra

#76

Power DVD. . . that answers your question right there. Its ment to play dvds (badly too I might add) Get MPC and use it with this.
Fliped video can be corrected in the decoder settings.
Some issues with playback can be other codecs running with ffdshow. More than likely powerdvd or some other app installed crud thats causing the issues. The flipped pic is often another decoder running or some crappy filter set from one of those codec "packs" A few nero codecs are rife with issues. Same goes for "Real" The real audio decoder often causes issue with its "take over" of container types.

Overlays: (cpu usage etc) go into the settings and turn it off. "video decoder config"

older version 2007-02-07 has issue with h264 mkv and mp4 containers skipping cause it to stop decoding. (old return of a earlier bug dependant on how the h264 is packaged I think)
I give it a 4 because of this breaking of h264 when earlier versions it was working.



Vista and audio, Vista has known issues with the audigy cards I suggest you check some of the vista bbs out there.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2007-02-21
on 25 February 2007, reviewed by: Anonymous

#75

Installed FFDShow build 2007-02-24, all working fine, i play videos in BSPlayer OK, but when i play them in PowerDVD 7 DeLuxe it turns out flipped??

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2007-02-21
on 24 February 2007, reviewed by: frequent

#74

Usualy works great but there is a bug in Vista with my soundblaster Audigy 2zs i think.My setups is a 3ghz p4, ati x1600 agp, 2gb ram, audigy 2zs, catalyst 7.2 and the current (2nd beta) creative audigy driver. If i have set as default playback device in vista the SPDIF out (and not the "speakers" option) i get correct multichannel dolby prologicII audio if the file has it(usualy xvid videos).If the file has stereo, it starts playing only if i dont touch my pc again, but if i load a new file or skip forward or backwards, i get Bluescreens.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2007-02-18
on 19 February 2007, reviewed by: Pancha

#73

Yes, it's working fine for me :-)

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2007-02-10
on 11 February 2007, reviewed by: amd64

#72

ffdshow rocks!

a x64 build would be very nice!

btw: is ffdshow working under vista?


greetings

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2006-10-09
on 13 October 2006, reviewed by: Tim

#71

I have a problem there man....
when use powerdvd deluxed to watch those avi file, the powerdvd just ..stalled.....no response at all...
while i remove the ffd or unlick the divx associated with ffd, then powerdvd is working fine, why??????????????

weird....
thanks mate

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2006-10-09
on 12 October 2006, reviewed by: Resurector X ..again

#70

I was talking about FFDShow..think i forgot to mention that..thanx..cherio!!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2006-10-09
on 12 October 2006, reviewed by: Resurector X

#69

Well, it works fine 98% of the time and i can live with that..Buuuut!!!!!..Hereīs amaybe real stupid question. When i installed the latest version..The "CPU Usage" is shown every time i watch a video. Well..thatīs ok when i watch them in MediaPlayer..but!! When i Burn a Movie DVD (Nero) The CPU Usage is shown in the upper left corner on the finished DVD..that's really anoying..tried everything to get rid of it..but itīs still there..please help me..what to do??

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2006-09-01
on 21 September 2006, reviewed by: raGe82

#68

Problems with FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2006-08-28. In movies with broken key frames it gives strange error in libavcodec. After switching to MMX version from 2006-09-15 it's ok (at least this problem)

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2006-09-01
on 13 September 2006, reviewed by: mind_warps

#67

Hi, Im having problems using it with winavi and get this error message:
" Can't decode this file! maybe the file is broken or system not install the decoder ! "
I think there is some issues with the libavcodec. It has worked fine before.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

1

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2006-08-21
on 24 August 2006, reviewed by: petr

#66

did they cease Windows 98 support? The installer requires Windows NT or similar.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

2

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2006-08-21
on 24 August 2006, reviewed by: JY

#65

crash microsoft media player 10 when play some mpeg4 video. error point at libavcodec.dll.

if replace this file in package with old version libavcodec.dll(size 2,255,360 bytes, time 2004.10.12), it will be ok.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2006-07-16
on 28 July 2006, reviewed by: petr

#64

Version SSE2 13-7 works well and eliminates the time lags in MPC when switching audio or subtitles in OGM files. Except that when I try to play an OGM video (with Vorbis audio enabled in the FFDshow Audio Decoder panel), there's an libavcodec error message (occurs in all the players). That didnt occur in the previous versions. only when I set the Vorbis format to ''tremor'' from ''libavcodec'' does the problem dissappear.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2006-05-26
on 24 July 2006, reviewed by: Blue

#63

If you have problem with registering ffdshow.ax download this dll file and copy to /windows/system32 directory

http://www.dll-files .com/dllindex/dll-files.shtml?msvcr71

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2006-05-26
on 20 July 2006, reviewed by: Ian

#62

Abhishek, I have the same problem with Powerdvd 7 Deluxe and FFDShow..

Seems like FFDSHOW and PowerDVD 7 Deluxe doesnt like eachother at all..

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2006-05-26
on 19 July 2006, reviewed by: stoo

#61

As noted below, if you get the "Error while registering ffdshow.ax" thing then search your system for any copies of msvcr71.dll and msvcr80.dll. If you find them, copy them to the C:\Windows\system32 dir and try the setup again. Worked for me!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2006-05-26
on 12 July 2006, reviewed by: Martin

#60

You need msvcr71.dll to correctly register ffdshow.ax (20060526-rev2546)

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2006-05-26
on 04 July 2006, reviewed by: BBB

#59

Great set of encoders. I tried all the different codecs and this one worked the best for me. Fast encoding.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2006-05-26
on 25 June 2006, reviewed by: Richi

#58

Whith the latest version of Divx released (6.2.5) is this still faster?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2006-05-26
on 24 June 2006, reviewed by: cornel

#57

I think anyone that tryed ffdshow-20060526 error ocurred registering ffdshow.ax ,the problem solve verry simple in my opinion.Try this...
1.Install ffdshow-20050328 give the path at your choice
2.install and overite same path like an update, just ensure that any app may not using the ffdshow.ax file in the same time..acording to the installer.
This probllem seems to be solved in here in this way..good luck!:)

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2006-05-26
on 22 June 2006, reviewed by: Sov

#56

To temporarily fix the explorer crash bug:

When the error occurs, if you can get an error report, you can find the name of the specific dll that's causing the problem. Once you do, navigate to the FFDSHOW directory and add .bak to the extension of that dll to disable it. Once you need it again, rename it back to normal.

If you don't know the error message, I know libmplayer.dll was causing the problem for me.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2006-05-26
on 20 June 2006, reviewed by: Patrick

#55

I'm running two PC's : station (P4, ATI Radeaon 9200) and notebook (FSC Celsius H230). Both with wxpsp2, framework 2.0, wmp10. When installing ffsdhow I have a problem when registering ffdshow.ax on the station. There is no poblem with registering on the notebook. I already tried to apply all the solutions described in this forum but I still can't install ffdshow on the station. :( Thanks for any suggestions. This is realy a good sw when it runs :))

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2006-05-13
on 19 May 2006, reviewed by: Alex

#54

You need .Net Framework 2.0 to correctly register ffdshow.ax

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2006-05-01
on 14 May 2006, reviewed by: rr

#53

In Windows 98 only version 13/4 seems to work fine. All other versions have bugs and the configuration panel doesnt appear at all. Latest version crashes Zplayer whenever I try to play a file, especially MKV

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2006-04-26
on 09 May 2006, reviewed by: Abhishek

#52

I have been using FFDShow for last few years and have been very happy with it. Recently I installed Cyberlink Power DVD 7 Deluxe and found that it didnt work with the Xvid codec of ffdshow. Anyone else having this problem ? I have updated my codec to recent pack a few days ago. BTW...what is SSE release of ffdshow ?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2006-04-20
on 27 April 2006, reviewed by: STrider

#51

Hello, i have been using this codec pack for years, even on my P2.. but im using P4E 3.4GHz for my multimedia, and until 30-04-2006 pack, everything has worked well, i have tried all hotfix info i have searched, and only thing that took away Very annoying ffdshow.ax error was to Uninstall it, and using VLCPlayer or ClassicMediaPlayer.. Please fix this _o/

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2006-04-20
on 25 April 2006, reviewed by: galapogos

#50

Hi,
I still have the "error while registering ffdshow.ax" problem with the 20060424 build, and nothing is using ffdshow since I just restarted the PC not too long ago. What's up with that? I can't install it at all, even over an older version.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2006-04-13
on 20 April 2006, reviewed by: Hark

#49

Thanks for the info Bishop! Solve the problem here!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2006-04-13
on 20 April 2006, reviewed by: albain

#48

For those who have problem to install, this is because a process is using ffdshow. The best way to get rid of it is to use a freeware called Process explorer from
http://www.sysinternals .com

Start it then menu Find / Find Dll and type ffdshow
It will show you all the process using ffdshow.ax. Kill them and click "Retry" in the setup.
Note for windows media center : the process ehrecvr.exe may use ffdshow, and if you kill it, it will restart automatically (because this is a service), so after killing it, just click quickly on the retry button in the setup.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2006-04-03
on 14 April 2006, reviewed by: Cretzu

#47

My Operating system is Win98 and I've had the same problem with the ffdshow.ax error thing. I've searched my computer for msvcr71.dll and I've found it in C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Messenger ....I've copied it in Windows\System32\Drivers directory and I've tried to install the FDDShow codec.....IT WORKED!!!!! You should do the same.....I have an AMD 400Mhz processor, 192MB RAM & 32MB Video....and I can watch movies smoothly!!!....the ony codec that works great!!!....at least for me

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2006-04-03
on 12 April 2006, reviewed by: Bosman

#46

It's undoubtly the best codec, although not perfect. However it handles the most formats and has simultanously a few MB's size only.
That newest version 20060403 installer report me an error with ffdshow.ax i am running win2k3 but with win2k on other computer it works ok.
The best reason is to install ver. 20051201 which should be ok in any case.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2006-04-03
on 12 April 2006, reviewed by: J7N

#45

Excelent decoder. The ultimate package of free open-source a/v processing and decoding libraries for Windows.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2006-04-03
on 10 April 2006, reviewed by: jason

#44

I have found the solution to the ffdshow.ax error thing. Please do this:

start>run>cmd>regsvr32 quartz.dll

if that doesnt work try this:
start>run>cmd>regsvr32 /u quartz.dll and then try start>run>cmd>regsvr32 quartz.dll

ganbare!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2006-04-03
on 06 April 2006, reviewed by: Sasquatch

#43

@BiShop:
Thanks for the info, I had that error too with the current build 20060403 and others. Some didn't have the error but you mention the different compilers so that's one of the problems. I copied the msvcr71.dll file from my Winamp folder to the Windows\system32 folder and it worked!

I love this program, it works for me perfectly without changing anything or setting anything. I guess I can get better results when tweaking it, but I have no idea what to set.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

FFDShow MPEG-4 Video Decoder 2006-02-26
on 20 March 2006, reviewed by: Anthony

#42

Everything works fine. Can't play MKV files and bad aspect ratio on SVCD movies.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

WRITE A REVIEW:

1. All submitted reviews & comments will be subject to moderation before being displayed. Stay on the subject otherwise your review won't be published.
2. If you are looking for help or support, please use the forum.


Enter the code exactly as you see it - case sensitive - in the spam-prevention image above.
Reviews
  • K-Lite Codec Pack
  • It will not load SRT files anymore.No more subs for me... Is this...
  • Adobe Flash Player
  • see guyz the best version is 11.3.300.257 because this is the last...
  • Screamer Radio
  • Excellent Player. It works. Now i can download all online streams...
  • Gom Player
  • You need to install CoreAAC-2.3.0.573 the latest audio codec for GOM player to...

    Sponsored
    Affiliates

    Codecs.com is known also as Free-Codecs.com.

    All website graphics, design, logo and layout are Copyright © 2004-2014 Codecs.com