K-Lite Mega Codec Pack 10.6.5 reviews

4.31

from 378 Reviews

Write a review

5

K-Lite Mega Codec Pack 1.43
on 17 November 2005 , reviewed by: guest

# 58

Not all of QuickTime Plugins in 1.4x? I had to uninstall Mega Pack 1.43 because of
missing quicktime plugins. I reinstalled mega pack 1.38 until this issue is resolved! This pack get's a 3 stars from me because of missing plug-ins.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

2

K-Lite Mega Codec Pack 1.43
on 16 November 2005 , reviewed by: Saulius

# 57

I am unable to uninstall this codec pack. I am using win98 se, any suggestion?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

K-Lite Mega Codec Pack 1.43
on 14 November 2005 , reviewed by: jugaor

# 56

Thank you for your excellent work!

A couple of questions:
-How reenable the MS-MPEG4 Codecs? (my video conversion app doesn't recognize ffdshow VFW).
-How use the "Updated Fraunhofer MP3 ACM codec"?
I see that both are in the "codecs" folder, but they aren't active. How install'em? (I guess that it's possible to use hacked *.inf, but it must be a better, "K-Lited", way).
TIA

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

Reply

5

K-Lite Mega Codec Pack 1.42
on 13 November 2005 , reviewed by: Anonymous

# 55

i can't use bsplayer to open any video files,i don't know why. I have reinstalled the k-lite mega codec pack many times, the problem is still unresolved.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

K-Lite Mega Codec Pack 1.42
on 12 November 2005 , reviewed by: Anonymous

# 54

the same problem is found in 1.4.2 just like Dekhermoy said.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

K-Lite Mega Codec Pack 1.42
on 11 November 2005 , reviewed by: MiniMe

# 53

I don't know why but with this codecs my bsplayer doesen't play .wmv files !!?!!
Anyone can say what's the best way to install this, what components ?! ...

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

K-Lite Mega Codec Pack 1.40
on 10 November 2005 , reviewed by: Dekhermoy

# 52

Big problem with this issued! 1.40

after almost to finishing install...
it say "some nero codec broken" & another one more codec is broken...I can't remember....& It ask for remove or not..

I click either "no" & "yew" (2-3 time to remove $ reinstall it...
Then it can't open any movie files...

(I choose the option use WMP to play all movie file)

so sad..:(

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

K-Lite Mega Codec Pack 1.40
on 08 November 2005 , reviewed by: Wez Laka

# 51

I should have also added the following:

Anyone having a problem with, 'with blurry or bleached playback'.
The cause of this problem was an alleged bug in the nVidia ForceWare drivers.
This is no longer the case with version 77.77 of the drivers.
If you are experiencing this on playback you may wish to download & update your
nVidia chipset based graphics card's drivers.

(Select your drivers @ this page:
http://www.nvidia .com/content/drivers/drivers.asp

Where it says 'START HERE', select from box 1:
'Graphics Driver'

from box 2:
'Geforce and TNT2'

from box 3: the operating system which you run. ( If you are not certain which
then:
Click on 'start' button on your PC's desktop & then click on 'Control Panel' on the window/menu that opens & then on the icon labelled 'System' - on the window that opens you will see under the 'System:' text the exact name & version of your operating system. )


For all who want to play those 'QuickTime HD' clips (the type that require the new H.264 codec), K-Lite Codec Pack will enable you to play them using your PC.

Save (or download) the files onto your hard-disk drive.

Rename the files from .mov to .mp4. (If you don't understand that then your system is set to hide 'known file type' extensions. If you don't know what
extensions are use google.com to search for 'display the file extensions in
Windows XP windows explorer' type exactly that - or better copy & paste it into google's 'search box' - the place where you type. You will now be able to see that the movie files you saved end with '.mov'. Select the file to rename it or if you don't know how, click on the file icon or name text ONCE with a left mouse button click & then press 'F2' key -at the top of your keyboard. You can now change the file's name. Windows will warn that your file may suffer if you change its 'extension', it won't in this case quite the contrary it will allow you to play it :). Change the '.mov' & type so that the file ends with .mp4 instead. Press return or enter or click the mouse anywhere but the file name text or icon to complete the name change operation.)

For those that are in the know:
Codecs involved: Haali's MP4 splitter & ffdshow (for H.264, AAC).

It is claimed that playback can be faster and more apt than even with QuickTime

itself. d0_0b

BTW
In previous posts I forgot to alter the default rating of '5'. Though infact I

would say that for philanthropy & effort the codec pack should get more than 5

& as to execution, considering it is provided at no charge then it is

infinately close to a top score. :D

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

K-Lite Mega Codec Pack 1.40
on 07 November 2005 , reviewed by: Wez Laka

# 50

To Nick (who, though this reply is to his comment in particular, sadly cannot be made aware of the following) & any of others having issues with iTunes & QTime Alt, the home page of K-Lite recommends:

To use QuickTime Alt. and iTunes together:
1. Uninstall QuickTime Alternative (or the K-Lite Mega Codec Pack).

2. Install iTunes. It will also install QuickTime.

3. Go to the Windows control panel (a.k.a. configuration) and click on add/remove programs (a.k.a. software).

4. Uninstall QuickTime.

5. Install QuickTime Alternative (or the K-Lite Mega Codec Pack).

As to the pack releases: I would certainly agree with those who strongly approve of this codec pack.
Some releases may have caused problems on some installation in the past, I have not experienced this, perhaps because I have used versions with no issues (from 1.17 & after or perhaps I did not use a version prior to 1.20).

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

K-Lite Mega Codec Pack 1.38
on 25 October 2005 , reviewed by: Uninstall

# 49

You really should Uninstall All other codecs before installing this or any other codec pack.
If only this k-Lite pack would detect the preinstalled codecs and ask you to uninstall then before the inational new install took place.
It would solve some of peoples problems.
To use windows media player as the defult player, right click on the movie file and select open with/choose program select windows media player and tick the box = easy peasy :P
Fantastic Job to the Publisher of K-Lite Codec Packs :)

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

K-Lite Mega Codec Pack 1.38
on 24 October 2005 , reviewed by: Nick

# 48

Any intention to update the QuickTime codec that comes with this? I can't run iTunes with this installed! And I want to keep this, cos it rocks!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

K-Lite Mega Codec Pack 1.38
on 14 October 2005 , reviewed by: dj Bockey

# 47

hi all!
i use this pack for a long time, and i wery like it ... simply best solution.

i have just one question about it!

is there any chance that k-Lite Mega codec pack have support for a AACPlus Audio Codec??

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

K-Lite Mega Codec Pack 1.38
on 13 October 2005 , reviewed by: ha huy

# 46

thanks for k-lite mega codec pack 1.38....

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

K-Lite Mega Codec Pack 1.38
on 10 October 2005 , reviewed by: oxygenuk

# 45

simply the best codec pack out there.

iv also tried ace mega codec pack but that is truly awful.

klite mega codec pack forever!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

K-Lite Mega Codec Pack 1.38
on 03 October 2005 , reviewed by: Tahna Los

# 44

Would be nice if the mega pack supported the latest DivX Codec. Otherwise, the ONLY codec pack that I use.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

K-Lite Mega Codec Pack 1.38
on 02 October 2005 , reviewed by: RavenCox

# 43

Excelent package, all in one, but does anybody knows if there is a mac version? It could be everything a mac needs to be a supercomputer video player, those already have a stunning hardware they only needs de software

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

K-Lite Mega Codec Pack 1.38
on 30 September 2005 , reviewed by: hernan from chile

# 42

thank you excelent codec pack

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

K-Lite Mega Codec Pack 1.37
on 14 September 2005 , reviewed by: Tiago

# 41

Simply the best. Distributed it for various people and they never had problems with media since then. I check this site regulary to make sure i have the latest version installed on my pcs

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

K-Lite Mega Codec Pack 1.37
on 05 September 2005 , reviewed by: Kader

# 40

great codec pack, no erros just simply great and never let me down :)

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

Reply

5

K-Lite Mega Codec Pack 1.37
on 01 September 2005 , reviewed by: S1l3

# 39

Works great i love it. The only thing that bothers me is real audio, it dosent work I tried a stream audio file and MPC wouldn't open it.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

K-Lite Mega Codec Pack 1.37
on 26 August 2005 , reviewed by: Marco Alfarrobinha

# 38

Simply the best!!!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

Reply

5

K-Lite Mega Codec Pack 1.37
on 24 August 2005 , reviewed by: Yougurth

# 37

If author read these post, I'll make a small request: Can You add MJPEG codec into the package? Thanks.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

Reply

5

K-Lite Mega Codec Pack 1.37
on 24 August 2005 , reviewed by: Cozmo

# 36

Definitelly the best codec pack ever!!!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

K-Lite Mega Codec Pack 1.36
on 14 August 2005 , reviewed by: PedroHSI

# 35

Since 1.35, an ActiveMovie window pops up when watching DVD with Media Player Classic. With 1.34 all works fine, without this annoying window. Is there a way to prevent it from popping up?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

K-Lite Mega Codec Pack 1.34
on 31 July 2005 , reviewed by: sabret00the

# 34

fantastic, never had a problem with it, just wish it'd come installed with stuff like pplive and other streaming media stuff.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

K-Lite Mega Codec Pack 1.34
on 22 July 2005 , reviewed by: blood

# 33

a few problems here and there(mpeg2 files dun really work well ,dunno y) but still able to play most of my video files

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

K-Lite Mega Codec Pack 1.34
on 15 July 2005 , reviewed by: michael

# 32

recently i install mega codec pack. i m facing some problems with video colors. i have the geforce 5600fx and every time i restart my computer i have to go to geforce5600 properties and set manually the color. is there any posible way to corect that . sound now is better . keep up the good work !!! thank y

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

K-Lite Mega Codec Pack 1.34
on 10 July 2005 , reviewed by: MCC

# 31

What is added to this "Mega" pack that is not in the "Full" or "Standard" k-light pack?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

K-Lite Mega Codec Pack 1.33
on 05 July 2005 , reviewed by: smartmax

# 30

Thanx guys!!! Great work!!!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

K-Lite Mega Codec Pack 1.33
on 05 July 2005 , reviewed by: smartmax

# 29

Guys, K-Lite Mega Codec Pack 1.34 already published, but you still didn't show it!!!!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

Reply

5

K-Lite Mega Codec Pack 1.33
on 01 July 2005 , reviewed by: mouahh

# 28

I use it since a lot of time.
Easy and full. Very good codec pack!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

K-Lite Mega Codec Pack 1.32
on 02 June 2005 , reviewed by: Koja

# 27

Best pack of codecs!!!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

K-Lite Mega Codec Pack 1.31
on 24 May 2005 , reviewed by: FromRussinWitnLove

# 26

Look, in new versions always they try to correct bugs... !!!!

So its same metter here !! see

\Program Files\K-Lite Codec Pack\info\readme.rtf

for more info ;)

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

K-Lite Mega Codec Pack 1.31
on 18 May 2005 , reviewed by: singleout

# 25

great codec pack,
but one nitpick, i have many videos and ktvs that have different languages on left and right channels, before installing the codec pack wmp can "change audio and language track"... after install, cannot

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

K-Lite Mega Codec Pack 1.31
on 18 May 2005 , reviewed by: idx

# 24

Real Alternative 1.38 from 1.37 seems to be at least one change.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

K-Lite Mega Codec Pack 1.31
on 18 May 2005 , reviewed by: FromRussinWitnLove

# 23

Please, explain what occurs?
Сhangelog of the version 1.30 is absolutely similar to the version 1.31.
About what new version in general there can in such case be a speech?

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

K-Lite Mega Codec Pack 1.30
on 01 May 2005 , reviewed by: operamaniac

# 22

Please note that Opera8 plugins are now in a different place... click 'help, about opera' to find it!!

please also try opera support at:-
http://www.opera .com/support/search/supsearch.dml?options=complete&maxhits=0&platform=&name=plug-ins

:) best codecs!! :)

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

K-Lite Mega Codec Pack 1.30
on 25 April 2005 , reviewed by: user

# 21

Please, can U at least put into Mega Pack AC3 Filter 102a ??? It is much better, tahn 0.70b, Thanx!

I am still waitng only 4 this change! Everything is OK!!! And, why I must install WinDVD 2 get my DMD movies Smoother? Bad codec? or filter o MEPEG2?

Thanx

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

K-Lite Mega Codec Pack 1.29
on 20 April 2005 , reviewed by: heffeque

# 20

ARGH! I take that back. Windows Media Player working A-OK again. Only thing missing now the is full support for QT streaming media.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

K-Lite Mega Codec Pack 1.29
on 20 April 2005 , reviewed by: heffeque

# 19

I have to give this version (1.29) a 4 instead of a 5 because... AUDIO STOPED WORKING in Windows Media Player 10!!! ??? I'm very confused. Everything playes 100% with Classic, BSPlayer and VLC (the ones I mostly use) but not that one.

Curiously audio plays ok on Windows Movie Maker. Strange... very strange.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

Reply

WRITE A REVIEW:

All submitted reviews & comments will be subject to moderation before being displayed. Stay on the subject otherwise your review won't be published. If you are looking for help or support, please use the forum.


Enter the code exactly as you see it - case sensitive - in the spam-prevention image above.

  • Helium Audio Converter
  • Helium software does exactly what it says it will do - and does it ALL well. Plus no crapware, ...
  • x265
  • I get a warning saying that this is not a valid executable file.
  • ProgDVB
  • ProgDVB 7.06.5 x64: + Easy to set up. + You can choose portable installation and normal. + The beautiful interface. - The channel ...
    view more »


    Codecs.com is known also as Free-Codecs.com.

    All website graphics, design, logo and layout are Copyright © 2004-2014 Codecs.com