Splash 1.8.3 Lite reviews

4.33

from 12 Reviews

Write a review

5

Splash 1.6.1 lite
on 22 August 2011 , reviewed by: Nash

# 12

There are a few media players out there now that offload video to the graphics card. Splash is one of them and my favourite.

The interface is very clean, simple and "just works". you don't have to mess about with any codecs or settings. It loads very fast and plays most popular videos.

I ended up forking out for the Pro version for the video enhancements and that has cemented it as my favourite video playing software, beating the former champ VLC!. It smooths out low frame-rates, enhances the image quality and colours. It makes even standard definition videos look vibrant and HD.

The only criticism I have is that enabling the Pro enhancements does eat into the processor a little. If you have an Atom grade CPU or less (with an ION or other GPU) then stick to the lite version, which will still offload to the GPU.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

Reply

4

Splash 1.3 lite
on 25 March 2010 , reviewed by: naoan

# 11

Well it play files good enough with nice interface to warrant a good review, HOWEVER :

- Subtitle not automatically loaded even when set
- NO styled subtitle support (fail for anime)
- Some missing code, try playing vorbis with this
- Very crude playlist, try dragging file from explorer to the playlist (not the main window)

Still it has come a long way for such a young player. Personally, I'd like a DS filter support...

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

Reply

3

Splash 1.0.5 lite
on 28 November 2009 , reviewed by: Andrew

# 10

No audio/video synchro when playing QT movies.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Splash 1.0.4 lite
on 29 October 2009 , reviewed by: Someone

# 9

"This is absolutely the best video player for HD I have ever tried!"

You took the words right out of my mouth. This is the best, I say again, THE BEST video player software out there, hands down. They killed the competition right here.

The GPU acceleration feature *really* works (unlike other software companies' claims), making even the most intense HD videos incredibly smooth, even on an Ion netbook.

Great job, Mirillis!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Splash 1.0.4 lite
on 27 October 2009 , reviewed by: yokozuna

# 8

Very impressive. The best player for playing hires H.264 movies and DVB-T. Excellent GPU decoding (ATI/NV/some Intel chipsets) out of the box.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Splash 1.0.3 lite
on 12 October 2009 , reviewed by: Andrea

# 7

Well, im quite impressed as Splash uses up to 2% my CPU with full HD playback. MKV files work great. Ultra fast and stable software. Supports multi-displays without a problem.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Splash 1.0 lite
on 21 September 2009 , reviewed by: peerowlka

# 6

I found Splash while looking for gpu acceleration. I have an ATI 2600 card with AMD 64bit 2 Core CPU and coudn't view smoothly a .mov movie on a 1600x1080 22' monitor. Splash is the first and only one that could.

I like very much mpc and I'll try this HC version.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Splash 1.0 lite
on 17 September 2009 , reviewed by: yoki

# 5

very good player. my camera films work very good and is it the one player to be good for my hd camera. i give it 4.5 because the playlist is limited. sorry for my english.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Splash 1.0 lite
on 15 September 2009 , reviewed by: quadrofx

# 4

I'm just blown away with the picture quality of Splash Lite! This is absolutely the best video player for HD I have ever tried!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

4

Splash beta 5
on 24 August 2009 , reviewed by: bolt

# 3

Just installed Splash to give it a try. Currently i'm using MPC-HC with EVR for GPU and ffdshow for software video decoding. Wanted to see if this software can play some of the streams that MPC-HC has huge problems with (poor quality of AVCHD from camcorders, not using GPU on Apple movie trailes on my nVidia GTX etc.).

I must say that I was impressed. First of all I was suprised how fast Splash opens video streams comparing to other players (2-5x times faster). Next, AVCHD playack - very smooth motion with high quality deinterlacing. Apple trailers are being decoded on GPU (so yes it can be done).

Finally just wanted to check if they really have their own AVC codec and compared CPU load with ffdshow. Most of the time Splash seemed to consume less CPU power (Apple trailers for example). It also can decode AVCHD high quality content in great quality on my 2.16Ghz C2D in software.

Because this software is still in beta (and has some bugs) i'm going to stick to MPC-HC for everyday usage. But if you are looking for a good AVCHD player and GPU support for video decode and have problems enabling it using other players than you might give it a try as it is free.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

Splash beta 5
on 23 August 2009 , reviewed by: janne

# 2

i totally disagree with anon.
honestly, i dont know if anon is mpc-hc fanboy, marketer or just knows nothing about picture quality.

i use both mpc-hc and splash. mpc-hc mostly for divx stuff. splash is the best software for my hd cam clips. picture quality is stunning (interlaced content). dxva works on all my PC's without a problem (mpc-hc works only on one... sometimes!).

resuming: this is very good software for hd movies.great picture quality, nice skin and its really easy to use.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

1

Splash beta 5
on 21 August 2009 , reviewed by: anon

# 1

junk, forget about this and get mpc-hc and ffdshow, you won't need anything else

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

WRITE A REVIEW:

All submitted reviews & comments will be subject to moderation before being displayed. Stay on the subject otherwise your review won't be published. If you are looking for help or support, please use the forum.


Enter the code exactly as you see it - case sensitive - in the spam-prevention image above.

  • BSPlayer

  • This is a risky player to download. It contains Adware and Trojans. Once installed will cause the PC to ...
  • KMPlayer

  • Original was good and all were up to last update when lots of videos that would play now do ...
  • CamStudio Lossless Codec

  • I found it very useful to use CamStudio Lossless Codec 1.5 in Hypercam2 program. These codecs gives the best results ...
    view more »


    Codecs.com is known also as Free-Codecs.com.

    All website graphics, design, logo and layout are Copyright © 2004-2014 Codecs.com