DVDStyler 2.8 rc2 reviews

3.38

from 8 Reviews

Write a review

4

DVDStyler 2.5
on 31 July 2013 , reviewed by: Hagan

# 8

DVDStyler v2.0
I have used this free product for the last two months or so and find it very good and easy to use it interface wise with only a couple of problems necessary to work around. I.E. Play All works just fine but choosing a chapter/scene if you can get to it directly only plays that chapter not the remainder of the disc. Troublesome.

As others do I usually burn to an .iso/disc image file then use Win8 explorer managed burn to create the disc as v2.0 balks on most occasions at direct disc burning.

Downloading v2.5 today hoping menu duplicates and scene select plays are corrected or bettered but for free software on the whole I very much like DVDStyler.

Trying others like Sony DVD Architect, complicated, but DVDStyler seems a keeper for simplicity, efficiency & price.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

Reply

4

DVDStyler 2.3 final
on 09 October 2012 , reviewed by: Artie

# 7

The DVD not playing issue has come up on many posts. You can attempt to change the IFO files to NTSC but this is not where the issue is!

I have looked at this for a long time and what I found was that DVD -R will burn just fine but use DVD +R and DVDSytler does not like it. I noticed that PAL was on any DVD +R IFO and when I verified that in one instance it was not PAL but NTSC it still would not play on my DVD player. I wonder if PAL standard requires DVD +R?
This behavior is odd.

I am using version 2.2 of DVD Styler for MAC as version 2.3 will not allow buttoms etc. to be placed on the background.
Also, the location for buttons can flag errors usually in the Y direction. I'd like to know where buttons can be placed if anyone knows. Experimentation tells me that buttons cannot be too close or this error occurs.

All this said, DVDStyler is really very good!
Art

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

2

DVDStyler 2.2 rc2
on 09 May 2012 , reviewed by: Don

# 6

For me,DVDStyler 2.2rc has only one main problem.
The completed DVD "will not" play on any of my Region 1 players,(Cannot Read Error).

The disks do play consistently on my PC. I have checked all the settings over and over especially, NTSC, 720x480. I have used other authoring software and the DVD's play fine but, I really like DVDStyler's useful menu features.

All the menu building and burning stuff works very well. I have tried everything and nothing has worked. I have about 80 *.avi files to process but, No Joy. I need to mass produce DVD's and DVDStyler seemed perfect for the task. Bummer.My rating is between excellent and bad. Sorry

Don

Don,You have to use DVD -R for DVDStyler to burn a readable disk. I have found this out by experimenting.

DVD +R cannot be read in DVD palyers. Also, PAL is in the IFO file as a result of this.

I suspect that DVD +R is the default for PAL burning.Art

on 09 Oct 2012 , by Art

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

1 comment | Reply

3

DVDStyler 2.2 rc1
on 16 April 2012 , reviewed by: Joe

# 5

I downloaded DVDStyler 1.8.2. It's a very nice interface, easy to use. It's great if you are making a full (one chapter) movie. If you want to put together a few episodes, or short movies, it has errors. You can play (all) and it will work well, but when you want to select a chapter, the 2nd menu doesn't seem to work well.

You can select some chapters, but others are inaccessible. The work around for it is to select a chapter that it will allow you to choose then hit the forward or backward button on your dvd remote to get to the chapter you want to watch.

I will look for a better version of DVDStyler, either before this version or after, to see what works. One commenter said to make an .iso file first, then burn the disk with another program. Might try that.
I like this interface and hope to find one that is not this flawed.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

3

DVDStyler 1.8.3 final
on 04 April 2011 , reviewed by: Ben

# 4

I'v been using DVDS for a while and it works very well. It's easy to use because there are no bells and whistles.

There are two problems that needs to be fixed in order for DVDS to be truly a good product.
1) It can create 16:9 videos but output is not HD even if source file is.
2) It has problems burning directly to DVD depending on hardware. I solved this problem buy burning to ISO first and use a different tool to burn the ISO file to disc. It never failed this way.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

DVDStyler 1.8.3 rc2
on 26 March 2011 , reviewed by: Mike

# 3

I use DVDStyler all of the author movies I have downloaded from torrents. Given the flex of this app, I can make them look pretty professional.

I have used avi ,mp4, mp3, mkv, flv, & even srt subtitle files with no problems. On the menus you can use png, jpeg, and ico files for backgrounds and buttons. You can dvds longer by lowering the bit rate, and make slide-shows on the fly.

Really the only complaint I have is when using wide screen movies they are stretched to fit a 16:9 screen and the picture is warped. The best work around is to add black borders to the original video on top & bottom so the ratio stays the same. This should be a built in option.

I rate DVDStyler 9 out of 10

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

5

DVDStyler 1.7.0 final
on 22 October 2008 , reviewed by: paul & paul

# 2

It shows errors, when investigated it is found it consumes much space probably 1gb for 1 dvd.

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

1

DVDStyler 1.7.0 alpha 1
on 08 August 2008 , reviewed by: threenorns

# 1

very slick interface, easy to figure out, but doesn't actually DO anything - the first disk (one VOB file only and of course it had to be my hubbie's "adult" movie, one only he would watch) burned beautifully but when i tried to make a second disk using my clips of our baby, the thing crashed and burned - over and over.

basically, it's a one-shot deal, so make yours count!

name:

email:

comment:

Question: what is the second word?
In order to prevent spam answer the question

WRITE A REVIEW:

All submitted reviews & comments will be subject to moderation before being displayed. Stay on the subject otherwise your review won't be published. If you are looking for help or support, please use the forum.


Enter the code exactly as you see it - case sensitive - in the spam-prevention image above.

  • ProgDVB
  • ProgDVB 7.06.5 x64: + Easy to set up. + You can choose portable installation and normal. + The beautiful interface. - The channel ...
  • x265
  • I have not tried out this software yet, but if it is a good encoder, then maybe someone can ...
  • Freemake Video Converter
  • I first wanted to give freemake cudos for starting out with a product that has so much potential, its ...
    view more »


    Codecs.com is known also as Free-Codecs.com.

    All website graphics, design, logo and layout are Copyright © 2004-2014 Codecs.com